Celestial Impact Forum Index

<  Ideas and Suggestions  ~  Mapping with blocks

Silverfish
Posted: Thu Jun 05, 2008 6:47 pm Reply with quote
How about enabling a mapper to add indestructable brushes (boxes) to his maps, with textures on? Now that you have linear gravity how awesome wouldn't it be if you made a normal map but people still had the ablility to add and remove dirt, I think it'd be a great way to make the game more fun because even though you can add dirt it would be much harder to get lost since you would be able to know how the map looked and recognize the wall textures to see where you are.
Or to make navigating easy even if you didn't know the map; make the (upcoming) radar map see brushes only.

Imagine the defending team blocking of some paths to their crystal and the other team have to dig through their dirt to get to the crystal. I know this is something that I'd greatly appreciate since I've been mapping for the source engines for many years.

I'm also just curious about how large you can make a map with lin-grav.

EDIT: Also one invisible type of box that the dirtgun can't be used on, to use as boudraries to prevent people from falling of the map if so desired.
Taza
Posted: Fri Jun 06, 2008 12:53 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 26 May 2008 Posts: 17 Location: South Australia, Australia
Right no I'm imagining de_dust2 in the game
Daemon
Posted: Sat Jun 07, 2008 3:37 am Reply with quote
i don't like the idea of indestructible objects. A good thing about this game is the ability to confuse your opponents. What you're suggesting would limit areas of the map as well. i believe landmarks can be incorporated, but should be editable in size and shape, so that it still fits in.

Halo Wars, coming soon!
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Taza
Posted: Sat Jun 07, 2008 8:58 am Reply with quote
Joined: 26 May 2008 Posts: 17 Location: South Australia, Australia